July 19, 2024

Docpet News

Detailed News at your Fingertips

Kogi guber: Yahaya Bello endorses Ododo, dumps deputy, Onoja, others  

Ahead of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Kogi State, the deputy governor, Edward Onoja, and the Chief of Staff to Governor Yahaya Bello, Pharm. Mohammed Abdulkareem Asuku, have withdrawn from the race.

LEADERSHIP reports that the ruling APC had fixed its governorship primary election for Friday, April 14, 2023.

The decision of the duo is coming after a critical stakeholders meeting hosted by the state governor, Yahaya Bello, at the State headquarters of the APC in Lokoja, the State capital on Thursday, where the Governor unveiled his preferred candidate.

It was reliably gathered that Governor Yahaya Bello picked a former Auditor-general of the State, Alh. Ahmed Usman Ododo, as his preferred successor.

Meanwhile, Chief Edward David Onoja and Asuku announced their withdrawal from the governorship race via their respective verified Facebook pages shortly after the meeting in Lokoja.

The deputy governor, Onoja, whom many had thought will naturally succeed Governor Bello before now, posted a cryptic message on Facebook, which reads: “To God be the glory for life and divine health. My appreciation to my leader, HE Alhaji Yahaya Bello and all my supporters for your love and prayers. Let love, patience and perseverance lead. I am forever grateful.”

For his part, the governor’s Chief of Staff, Asuku, who was also seen as a frontrunner because of his closeness to the governor, posted:

“Alhamdulillah! Alhamdulillah !!Alhamdulillah !!!

All praises and adoration are due to the most high God the greater of the entire universe and the sustainer of same who have safeguard my life and that of my immediate family and well wishers to witness this moment in my life. I sincerely appreciate His Excellency, my benefactor, for all that Allah have been using him to do in my life. As such, I hereby submit myself publicly to the decision taken today and I will forever live to remain loyal and dedicated to the decision of my party as I enjoin all my well wishers to work with us for our great party APC to become victorious in the November 11th General Election.”

In a similar development, other aspirants like Mr David Adebanji Jimoh; a former Commissioner for Finance, Asiwaju Ashiru Idris; Okala Yakubu, and Momoh Jubril have also withdrawn from the governorship race.